Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Tuning for Mild Cam, Headers, etc....

Tuning for Mild Cam, Headers, etc....

Been looking everywhere to come up with a good Spark advance table or any other things to help. Running a TBI 350 with Headers, dual flowmasters with Comp Cam 12-366-4 Lift: .520"/.515" Duration: 268°/280° Lobe Separation Angle: 113° Has ecm 1227747 $42

If anyone can please help me with any of this id appreciate it. Im kinda new to this but have messed with it quite a bit so theres some smaller stuff i may not know. My map reading at idle runs about 60 kPa at about 550 RPM. Ive tried started working on its idle first to keep a good steady idle and lope but when it does start to lope right it looses its rythm.

That's not a mild cam. It's just beyond max for an EFI system. This one?
    http://www.jegs.com/i/Comp-Cams/249/12-366-4/10002/-1

Operating range from 2000 PRM, not 0 RPM... hope your manual trans or have a high stall converter... then it goes to 6000 RPM so you need enough fuel there before you start tuning idle.

You'll never idle Closed Loop at 60 MAP and 550 RPM. Start at 850, may be able to get it lower later. Idle spark around 22 degrees, stock is 16.

TBI is a wet intake so the longer you idle the wetter the intake gets, worse with low vacuum/high MAP. So need to rev it up awhile after you make adjustments to dry it out, then see what data says for more adjustments.

But idle is the least of worries right now. What is estimated HP of engine? What size injectors? What fuel pressure?

This is not an easy engine to learn to tune on, here's some things we were collecting for starter tunes on built engines.
    http://www.gearhead-efi.com/Fuel-Inj...odified-engine.

1990 Chevy Suburban 5.7L Auto ECM 1227747 $42!
    1998 Chevy Silverado 5.7L Vortec 0411 Swap to RoadRunner!
    -= =-