Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Supercharged "95 Riv needs a tune

Electronic Ignition!

Supercharged "95 Riv needs a tune

Hi guys, I'm new here and though I have 30+ years experience working on cars, I have zero tuning experience. I have a '95 Riviera that I built with and for my son. It has a Series 1 L67 3800 Supercharged motor and a 4t60e tranny. We need to start tuning this spring when the car comes out of storage and need to learn what's involved. I do have a pretty good knowledge of what makes a car run. Where I am lacking is in reading the info associated with tuning. Do I download Tunerpro RT and have at it, or do I learn first? Will downloading the free Tunerpro first to familiarize myself be a good idea? I don't want to get ahead of myself. Will it make more sense when I can see it? Your advice will be greatly appreciated! Thanks Dave

Probably first would be find the ECM/PCM number in your car, there is a spreadsheet that covers most.
    http://www.gearhead-efi.com/Fuel-Inj...our-files-here!

With that we can figure out if it's a chip or flash based system and figure the hardware needed.

Then learn to use TunerPro RT, TunerPro just does the bin adjustments, Get RT, free to use, please pay the $39 when able, well worth 10x that. I have a basic starter here:
    http://www.gearhead-efi.com/Fuel-Inj...-a-must-read!-)

1990 Chevy Suburban 5.7L Auto ECM 1227747 $42!
    1998 Chevy Silverado 5.7L Vortec 0411 Swap to RoadRunner!
    -= =-

Electronic Ignition!
    Okay, heres what I got off of Tunerpro's site: mask id $5B7 / ECM 16183247 /Bin definition TBD / Datastream definition 5B7.ads . I want to purchase the set up they sell with the cable, burner and software for $214.00. But until we get the car out of storage can I play around with the free download just to familiarize myself with the software. I have a parts car same year and motor. Would I be able to hook up to that just to play around for now with it out of the car?

Super Moderator