Thread: New computer, got questions

New computer, got questions

So I have finally stepped into the 20th century and bought a brand new computer. Its a ASUS CM1745-05. It has windows 8. Still getting used to that. Quite a drastic change from XP that I have been using for the past 10-11 years. Some things I am not too fond of, lot of the stuff is hard to find and hidden, lots of crap you don't need, lots of things that used to be simple are now hard to do. Funny how making something better means making it more user unfriendly. I do on the other hand enjoy the speed. Holy crap its like you have been climbing a molasses/glue covered hill for the past several years and suddenly you are on a greased slide...lol. Websites load uber fast, videos will actually play like they are supposed to, etc... OK, so here is the issue I am having. When on this site, typing a reply or making a thread, I can not hit enter to go to a new line. wtf? I come to the point I need to start a new paragraph and hit enter, but nothing happens. Doesn't matter what I do. I really don't understand what would be causing it other than some type of computer/windows 8 problem with the web software? So now I simply have to make everything 1 long paragraph. Now, on another forum (jeepforum) I do not have the problem of hitting enter, it works fine on that site. However the little blinking line (or whatever its called) showing where you are typing will not move if you press the arrow keys or try to click into a word to correct a spelling mistake. You can click in a word, but then have to hit a letter or space bar to know where you are. This is really odd. But on IFSJA forums, everything works fine. Email also works fine. So I am thinking on these two sites, it must be some type of problem between the web software and windows 8? Anyone have a clue?
    79 Jeep Cherokee, AMC 401, T-18 manual trans, hydroboost, 16197427 MPFI system---the toy