Bringing TBI and Multi Port Fuel Injection to a New Level.     EFI Conversions and Tuning! Seattle to Portland! E-mail Tuning Consultant!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 152

Thread: Tuning options for Dodge Mopar

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Alamogordo, NM
    Posts
    329

    Tuning options for Dodge Mopar

    just wondering if anyone has found any tuning solutions for Dodge? my Ram could use some tuning and last time i checked only tuning was high dollar, secret squirrel SCT, and no datalogging capabilities at the time. the rest were generic tuners. im wondering if anyone has hacked the factory calibration and what hardware/software options are out there now. the truck is a 1997 Ram SS/T with the 360 magnum.


    thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Camden, MI
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,026
    what kind of processor in them?

    otherwise, megasquirt or GM OBD1/OBD2....
    1995 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS 3100 + 4T60E


  3. #3
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Alamogordo, NM
    Posts
    329
    i wish i knew lol. ive thought about installing a GM ecm but unless i piggyback it, it would have to operate the 76RE trans

  4. #4
    EFI GearHead ! EagleMark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    North Idaho
    Age
    58
    Posts
    10,477
    Basic OBDII data logging is not an issue, Scan XL Pro.

    1990 Chevy Suburban 5.7L Auto ECM 1227747 $42!
    1998 Chevy Silverado 5.7L Vortec 0411 Swap to RoadRunner!
    -= =-

  5. #5
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Alamogordo, NM
    Posts
    329
    i just took a look at scan xl pro and it looks decent, as long as i can use that to do the same as with TPV5 then ill probably get it. im wondering if its even doable to tune this PCM though, if i cant flash it myself ill probably say forget it for now considering im already on a tight budget. MS or GMecm may be too much trouble, it was a bitch to tune the mustang with the 7730, especially with the E cam. and its a stick, hard to imagine tuning shift points for auto.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Six_Shooter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    2,884
    Diablo Sport has a LOT of Dodge tuning support.

    http://www.diablosport.com/
    The man who says something is impossible, is usually interrupted by the man doing it.

  7. #7
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Alamogordo, NM
    Posts
    329
    Quote Originally Posted by RobertISaar View Post
    what kind of processor in them?

    otherwise, megasquirt or GM OBD1/OBD2....
    Robert, if i can find out which processor the PCM has would that help?

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Camden, MI
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,026
    if the processor can be determined, then the BIN can be disassembled.

    BIN is probably in a FLASH PROM, so that would either require desoldering and then read in a burner or getting the PCM to spit it out over the DLC.

    if it's a relatively common processor, chances are better that someone will be willing to take it on.
    1995 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS 3100 + 4T60E


  9. #9
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Alamogordo, NM
    Posts
    329
    LOL even people on the dodge forums recommend swapping to a GM PCM. So, what would be a good canidate for a swap, the 0411?

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Six_Shooter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    2,884
    Quote Originally Posted by 34blazer View Post
    LOL even people on the dodge forums recommend swapping to a GM PCM. So, what would be a good canidate for a swap, the 0411?
    If you want to use OBDII, that would be the one I would choose.
    The man who says something is impossible, is usually interrupted by the man doing it.

  11. #11
    Carb and Points!
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Age
    40
    Posts
    2
    Hi 34blazer thank you for the invite to this forum if you need any info on the jtec controller or any automotive electronics just send me an email. I have been in the automotive electronics repair business for 10 years and have any info you would ever need for the jtec or any other module you can think of I just started a automotive electronics reverse engineering youtube channel. I just started to reverse engineer the jtec controller Ill be passing on my 10 years of knowledge I have on these units so please subscribe thanks alot. You can find my youtube channel at "Erin Laws".

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Camden, MI
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,026
    1995 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS 3100 + 4T60E


  13. #13
    Carb and Points!
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Age
    40
    Posts
    2
    Yes search Erin Laws my account pic is an android , search for dodge jtec computer repair you will also find it

  14. #14
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Alamogordo, NM
    Posts
    329
    Welcome! Cant tell you how happy I am to see some progress!

    http://thespeedfreaks.net/showthread...-tunning/page4
    Last edited by 34blazer; 05-10-2015 at 10:53 PM.
    '86 Grand National

  15. #15
    Carb and Points!
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Age
    45
    Posts
    2
    hi, guys.. just registered after following this whole JTEC reprogramming thread.. it sucks to see that good progress came to a grinding halt..
    hopefully, i just may be able to help and get this show back on the road...

    i noticed that the JTEC wiki isn't working - except for links to a couple pictures..

    so, hopefully between here and speedfreaks, this can get worked out..

    as far as this SCT company, it looks like they're just flashing calibrations, rather than the whole eeprom..
    does anyone know if the pinout for this motorola z3 processor exists (or as least for this processors' maskset)
    need to find out if this eeprom has the programming voltage and reset pins going to the processor.
    (can we just get the eeprom to drop into programming, or does it need to be bootstrapped like the motorola ME7 / 7.2 / 7.5 ecus?)

    i know a lot of the newer chrysler pcms' use that SCI bus specifically for programming - not sure if the older ones even have that bus...

    so, if we have a pinout of the processor that's in there, and if the correct programming pins go from the eeprom to the processor, it's just a matter of finding all the calls to the port that controls those pins, and working backwards from there.
    usually for 'security', a lot of these obdii programmable pcm / ecu's will use some completely screwed up sequence of commands to enter a programming mode..
    GM uses a seed / key for security access
    Subaru uses a pin that goes to B+ voltage
    volvo actually uses the central electrical module to do all the dirty work - it puts all the modules in the car into a 'bootstrap' mode, all the data is sent to the CEM; which then decides if the data is good / checksummed correctly, then it will program the corresponding module, then reset all the modules in the car to take them out of 'bootstrap'
    (BTW - you can just bootstrap the eeprom in a volvo ECU, and directly read / write to the ECU via a basic K-line connection)
    The older nissan JTEC ecu's had commands you could send via diag line to read out the ecu - one byte at a time

    I guess one obvious way to make this easier would be to record the argument between the PCM and a J2534 during a standard calibration update.

    The maps, axis, and scaling information is a pretty straightforward thing to do. I don't understand some of these other posts by 'those in the know' about the stock PCM not having the 'resolution' to do this or that...
    part of the formula that the pcm / ecu uses to calculate how long to fire the injectors is 'injector deadtime' - this is the value you use to change the size of the injector - you change that, and everything else on the fuel side gets scaled accordingly.

    using a stock pcm / ecu, you actually have a very good amount of adjustment (plus all the factory safeguards) - oh, and for those with OBDII, when inspection time comes ALL the OBDII test calibration stuff is in there too... hell you can set it to run all your monitors at idle, in 5 minutes if you want.

    I am completely hellbent on being able to reprogram this pcm....
    it's a motorola processor - so BDM is a viable option - even to just 'watch' what the processor is doing

    I understand (in a way) what the 'companies' are trying to do.. "I know something you don't know... unless you want to pay.." I understand they have overhead, development costs, marketing, and of course; since the only people who can really afford some of this 'tuning company' stuff, pretty much piss money, they need to make a hefty sum since only a few people will have enough money to buy...

    Dilemma did a open-source project for SAABS - T5 suite, T7 suite and T8 Suite. sure, if you didn't have the technical knowledge to do it yourself, most of the higher-end cookie-cutter tunes from companies were between $120-$350. That is a much more realistic price for your average person to pay..

    And, another reason this should be obtainable info - if the car companies have their way (a couple car companies are whining to congress) - vehicle pcm / ecu's may be soon covered under the DMCA....

    if anyone has copies of the stuff that got posted to JTEC.INFO, it would be great to be able to get copies....

    Even if this PCM needs to be bench-flashed with some type of harness, it really needs to be figured out!
    I'm sick of having vehicles with ECU's that can't be screwed with! I just finished my Discovery I ecu.. there really was NO info on it out there - thankfully, it just used 2 socketed EPROMs..

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •