Thread: Help With SMOG – TUNERCAT

Carb and Points!

Help With SMOG – TUNERCAT

I'm new to Tuning software and could really use some help.

I can’t pass smog. I have a, never fired, new motor in my 94 Firebird. Stock V8 with a 6 speed tranny. Hooker smog headers and a K&N air cleaner are the only mods. I purchased a computer from this forum that is a stock 6 speed tune. The idle in open loop is good at 800-850 RPM. The RPM in closed loop is 1000-1050. The low fan kicks on at 227 DegF and the high fan kicks on at 236 DegF. I am new to TunerCats Pro and could use some help. The smog guy suggested that I go after the O2 sensors and the Cat first. I have a Datalog of the O2 sensors. If someone could look at it, I could use the help. How do I verify if the computer in my car is tuned for a manual or automatic transmission?

Failed smog. Smog report.
    CO was 2.17% at idle and 2.16% at 2500 RPM. Allowable is 1.00%.
    HC at idle(1050 RPM) was 164 ppm with an allowable amount of 100 ppm.
    HC at 2500 RPM was 86 ppm with an allowable of 130 ppm.
    Attached Images Attached Images

I think when inspector said go after O2 sensors and Cat first he was suggesting to change them to new.

Do you have origanal PCM to read tune from? I have a 94 manual tune here you could compare to. Look at DTC codes for transmission and you'll see most are unchecked for manual and chacked for auto.
    Attached Files Attached Files

1990 Chevy Suburban 5.7L Auto ECM 1227747 $42!
    1998 Chevy Silverado 5.7L Vortec 0411 Swap to RoadRunner!
    -= =-

Administrator