Thread: Please help, Code 41 with GM1 Memory Adapter and new prom

Electronic Ignition!

Please help, Code 41 with GM1 Memory Adapter and new prom

Hello all!

I'm new to PROM burning and could use some guidance. I have a 1987 Corvette with the 1227165 ECM I'm trying to use with a newly burnt PROM. I am using the BoostedNW GM1 Memory adapter to attach the PROM and have the original MEMCAL piggybacked. I've only made slight changes to the bin to disable EGR.

When I start the car with this configuration, it fires right up, but I immediately get a Code 41 and it idles really rough (like it has a loppy cam installed). From searching the details of Code 41, I believe that this means the ECM can't communicate with the new PROM.

I've verified that the issue goes away when I remove the memory adapter and install the original memcal. I've tested burning the chip both with the bin copies from the original memcal as well as a bin found online and got the same results. When I burn the new PROM, I'm using what I believe are the correct offsets for a 16K bin.

Any thoughts on what could be causing this issue? At this point I'm wondering if there is a problem with the memory adapter from boostednw.

Thanks in advance!

David

Electronic Ignition!
    Here is a thought: do I need to do something with the checksum or Prom ID? I've read that I may need to set the Prom ID to aa to disable the prom checksum validation.

What offsets were used when the chip was burned?

Electronic Ignition!
    Quote Originally Posted by dave w View Post
    What offsets were used when the chip was burned?
    It's a 27SF512 PROM and the offsets are:

Buffer 0000-3FFF
    Chip C000-FFFF

Thanks!
    Last edited by Haleydr82; 12-01-2023 at 06:47 PM.

Electronic Ignition!
    I'm testing using tunerpro to stack the bin as well, and getting the exact same results.