Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Truck Norris Nsr 5.3l lm7 help

Carb and Points!

Truck Norris Nsr 5.3l lm7 help

Hello all, I'm new to all of this but eager to learn. I've successfully deleted vats with pcmhammer and tunerpro.
    Engine runs but not happy. Can anyone possibly point me in the right direction of getting this thing tuned or sharing a bin file for the cam I'm running to be able to drive to the exhaust shop. Everything is stock except the cam and long tube headers. After the exhaust is on I plan on taking it to a local tuner for a real tune. I would assume the timing has to be adjusted.

Here are the specs,
    2001 lm7 5.3l from a suburban
    Truck Norris Nsr cam
    OS ID 12208322

Thanks for any help!
    Attached Images Attached Images

Fuel Injected!
    If you are running open headers, unplug the O2 sensors until you have the exhaust put on. That will keep it in open loop. You can not run closed loop with open headers. The O2 sensors are too close to outside air and will report false lean exhaust and cause the PCM to continue adding fuel that is not needed. Also Stock LM7 injectors are too small for any 5.3L with a cam. You need to post the bin file you are using also and assuming this is a swap, the trans type, rear gear ratio and tire size for starters.

I'm going to be running the same cam soon. My first step with a cam like that is to remove VE at the bottom of the table and add VE at the top.
    80 Camaro Z28 - 550hp AFR 383 / T56 6spd (Holley HP EFI)
    91 Beretta "SS" - 260hp 3400 MPFI / HM282 5spd (7730/$A1) sold! for crazy money...but I miss it
    94 Silverado Z71 - 300hp Vortec 357 TBI / NV4500 5spd (7427/$0D) gone but not forgotten
    96 Beretta "T56" - 4.8 LS RWD swap / 6spd (0411/2156)
    01 Silverado 2500HD - stock Vortec 8.1 / ZF6 6spd (0411/8322)
    https://www.youtube.com/c/GEARHEADdezign

Fuel Injected!
    Quote Originally Posted by woody80z28 View Post