Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Help with some lt1 tuning tuner pro

  1. #1
    Carb and Points!
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Location
    Stockton
    Age
    33
    Posts
    8

    Help with some lt1 tuning tuner pro

    Ok so a few things Iím trying to figure out I swapped a 94 lt1 4l60e into my 78 el Camino motor seems to idle a bit to high around 1200-1300 at idle in drive and about 1500-1600 in park I have no vacuum leaks and tps tests correctly also have a few transmission issues but mostly tied to the vss not being connected to the speedometer but the idle issue not sure if itís a tuning issue

  2. #2
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Apr 2022
    Posts
    65
    More questions than answers. If you have access to the datastream see what your IAC (idle air control) counts are. This is assuming you are a DBC (drive by cable) system. IAC count should be about 30. If it is zero that you have a vacuum leak because your computer is trying to command zero amount of flow through your IAC valve.
    To confirm that your IAC is actually closed, there is a small orifice by passing your throttle plate that the IAC uses to bypass the throttle plate to control your idle speed. Disconnect your mass airflow sensor and remove the intake duct, then start your car. It might take a little bit but should eventually, within about one minute, start to idle reasonably. Then you can take your finger and plug this orifice and if the idle speed drops to normal the computer is either commanding it open or the idle air control is stuck, broken, wiring is incorrect or the PCM is defective.
    DBW (drive-by wire) is a whole different topic.
    Another thing that can cause high idle is coolant temperature. Look at your datastream and see what ECT is, -40į indicates an open circuit.

  3. #3
    Carb and Points!
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Location
    Stockton
    Age
    33
    Posts
    8
    Thank you great info and gives me somewhere to start I’ll try that later today and yes it is DBC I’ll look at my data stream and see what the IAC count is and ECT

  4. #4
    Carb and Points!
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Location
    Stockton
    Age
    33
    Posts
    8
    On another note I’m still having some trouble with the transmission not shifting properly stays in second and tcc won’t lock up using flash hack I can command the tcc to lock up and put it in 4th gear that way i need to add a resistor to the vss wire from pcm to switched 12v that’s what Dana said over at lt1 wiring back when he did this harness and tune since I’m not running it to a speedo so worst case scenario I have a th400 to throw in but if I go that route do I need to disable all transmission controls in tuner pro or somewhere else

  5. #5
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Apr 2022
    Posts
    65
    I do not have much experience with the transmission yet, still trying to get mine perfected. I can share my bin file with you but it is for a 603 operating system. I have a 408 cu in LQ9 LS with a 4L60E transmission.

  6. #6
    Carb and Points!
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Location
    Stockton
    Age
    33
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by MO LS Noobie View Post
    More questions than answers. If you have access to the datastream see what your IAC (idle air control) counts are. This is assuming you are a DBC (drive by cable) system. IAC count should be about 30. If it is zero that you have a vacuum leak because your computer is trying to command zero amount of flow through your IAC valve.
    To confirm that your IAC is actually closed, there is a small orifice by passing your throttle plate that the IAC uses to bypass the throttle plate to control your idle speed. Disconnect your mass airflow sensor and remove the intake duct, then start your car. It might take a little bit but should eventually, within about one minute, start to idle reasonably. Then you can take your finger and plug this orifice and if the idle speed drops to normal the computer is either commanding it open or the idle air control is stuck, broken, wiring is incorrect or the PCM is defective.
    DBW (drive-by wire) is a whole different topic.
    Another thing that can cause high idle is coolant temperature. Look at your datastream and see what ECT is, -40į indicates an open circuit.

    Thanks this solved it your the man iac count was all over the place did what you said plugged it and idle dropped. I have a few extra spare parts I swapped the iac with a used one I have and that fixed the issue. Now Iím wondering if that somehow affected my transmission and it not shifting correctly

  7. #7
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Apr 2022
    Posts
    65
    Glad I could to help.

Similar Threads

  1. tuner pro/tuning chips help
    By LlamaJWC in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-04-2014, 09:19 AM
  2. tuner pro/tuning chips help
    By LlamaJWC in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-01-2014, 07:37 AM
  3. New to Tuner Pro and TBI Tuning need some help
    By qtrmile in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-20-2013, 05:13 PM
  4. Open Loop tuning/New to tuner pro
    By freshda9 in forum TunerPro Tuning Talk
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-31-2013, 05:46 AM
  5. Tuning OBD1 GM EFI using Tuner Pro RT
    By mudbuggy in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-01-2012, 04:25 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •