Thread: New Project and need some advice.......

Carb and Points!

New Project and need some advice.......

I am still very new to the programming world of PCM's. I have successfully converted a 99 Tahoe from the "Black Box"
    to an 0411 PCM. This got my feet a little wet. Now I am wanting to put a L21 454 with a 4L80 into my 1965 Impala. The L21 uses a
    24X Crank Reluctor and a 1X Cam signal which allows for CNP. From what I understand this engine used a "special" PCM.
    Since I do not have the PCM I was thinking I could go ahead and upgrade to a P1 or P59. Is anyone familiar with this upgrade?
    Any suggestions on what file to start with? I have played around with different base files such as starting with an 8.1 and
    segment swapping the transmission along with swapping around the bank for cylinder so I can repin the harness for the correct firing order.
    I am sure there is a lot more that I will need to do but I was just curious if anyone else has done this? I am open to suggestions on which PCM,
    OS, and which base file to start with. Any guidance is greatly appreciated.
    1970 Chevelle SS
    1965 Impala SS

Fuel Injected!
    Hiya,
    It seems you are on a good path. Is the L21 still stock and will remain so? If not, you should either start with a 6L 4l80e file DBC(Drive by Cable) and correct or deal with a 8.1L 4L80e file which I have not seen a DBC file for. I have always been curious about this L21 file and I will have one from a TopKick tomorrow. Sucks it has an Allison transmission according to the VIN. The computers are the old LS1A computers(that is what efilive calls them). If not familiar, they are '97/98 corvette or '98 camaro style. Neither came with a 4L80E so a seg swap is unlikely and also you said you don't have that pcm anyway.