Thread: 16196396 ECM swap to 16196395 PCM

Fuel Injected!

16196396 ECM swap to 16196395 PCM

I have a 94 GMC k1500 5.7 and Manual transmission.

I took out of a 94 suburban with 5.7 and 4l60E the PCM the engine harness the knock sensor and just about everything else i pulled all the good parts and dumped the empty rusty body at the junk yard.

I completely de-pinned the red and blue connectors off of the suburbans harness and then one at a time pinned in my harness wires into those connectors. I used the guide thats here on this sight for the 7427 upgrade as well as i have my own access to wire diagrams from work as im a service technician.

I also installed the knock sensor out of the suburban in order to match the memcal. Also where my truck had the esc module for the external knock sensing I took the knock signal wire that originally went between the esc and ecm and i soldered it to the knock sensore wire itself so now the knock sensor bypasses the esc abd goes straight to the pcm and the knock sensor is the matching one for that memcal.

Also worth noting the guide on this site says to input a 12v battery wire into brake switch input for tcc to function properly. My trucks harness was short one 12v ignition wire so i instead put that 12v battery wire into the 12v ignition slot F15 on the new PCM. I hope thats okay since i have a stick and no need for tcc?

I now cant get it to start. Its just cranks and it tries to sputter and fire but wont turn over. It back fires out the intake.

With the laptop hooked up to the aldl connector with moates cable 1 setup and tunerpro RT I can connect and communicate with the PCM but the map sensor says 54 kpa. Shouldnt at rest no vacuum atmospheric pressure read like just over 100? Like 103 or something right?