Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: EBL Flash P4 can't get VE learn to work right...

  1. #1
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Apr 2022
    Age
    42
    Posts
    20

    EBL Flash P4 can't get VE learn to work right...

    So every time I do a VE learn, I'm doing it via my WBO2 and only the top right of the tables will adjust. I noticed when it will learn the cell highlight is green. Everywhere else the cell highlight turns orange and won't adjust. I have the WB selected for VE learns in the preferences screen on the general setup and the min CTS set to 125 deg F and the max CTS set to 220 deg F with a smoothing factor of 4. In the ADC channels I have the AEM WBO2 selected on Channel 0 where the WB button is pressed. I have the Closed Loop Enable set to 150 deg C so it stays in open loop the whole time but I notice that it is still going into closed loop and when any PE or AE is active it won't learn. I had the tune pretty dead on doing manual adjustments and data logging but then I bumped my AFRP up another 5psi because my Duty Cycle % on the injectors was getting over 90% at the top of WOT and I wanted to give myself more wiggle room since it needed a little more fuel on the 95 and 100 load columns.

    What else do I need to change to get the VE learns to adjust properly on the rest of the table?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator dave w's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    5,798
    Maybe there is minimum number of data points / recorded data per cell before a VE Learn will be calculated?

  3. #3
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Apr 2022
    Age
    42
    Posts
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by dave w View Post
    Maybe there is minimum number of data points / recorded data per cell before a VE Learn will be calculated?
    Well... I just learned that I changed the wrong Scalar to force open loop. I changed the Warm Timer CTS Threshold and not the CTS threshold. Let me go out and try that and see if that worked. :facepalm:

  4. #4
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Apr 2022
    Age
    42
    Posts
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by dave w View Post
    Maybe there is minimum number of data points / recorded data per cell before a VE Learn will be calculated?

    Ok so that did it but I still notice you have to stay in a cell for like a full second before it will learn a cell. This makes some cells that are hard to stay in for any time non learnable. Like the lower RPM range of 100% load. Is there a setting to change that?

  5. #5
    Fuel Injected! ralmo94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    375
    Quote Originally Posted by Blown WS6 View Post
    Ok so that did it but I still notice you have to stay in a cell for like a full second before it will learn a cell. This makes some cells that are hard to stay in for any time non learnable. Like the lower RPM range of 100% load. Is there a setting to change that?
    You MAY just have to manually tune those sections. With wideband, it's fairly easy using lambda scale.
    To get lambda, divide AFR by 14.7 example 15afr divided by 14.7 = lambda 1.02 multiply that cell by 1.02.
    That adds the 2% that you were lean.
    No need to re-invent the wheel. But we can make it better

  6. #6
    Fuel Injected! PlayingWithTBI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Tonopah, AZ
    Age
    68
    Posts
    287
    Quote Originally Posted by Blown WS6 View Post
    Well... I just learned that I changed the wrong Scalar to force open loop. I changed the Warm Timer CTS Threshold and not the CTS threshold. Let me go out and try that and see if that worked. :facepalm:
    One trick is pull a trailer or drag your brakes. Otherwise you may have to smooth out your VE tables as mentioned above.

Similar Threads

  1. Would this EPROM work in a 747
    By EDZIP in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-02-2015, 08:08 AM
  2. New to EFI Work
    By Alpine67 in forum Introductions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-26-2015, 03:47 PM
  3. This should work, right?
    By camnutz in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-22-2014, 02:52 AM
  4. what might work
    By ony in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-31-2014, 07:55 PM
  5. Any injectors that won't work with TPI ECM?
    By dyeager535 in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-14-2013, 10:21 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •