Thread: this is something new to me

Carb and Points!

this is something new to me

gearhead fam...im new to this tuning stuff. i got a 5.3 4l60e from a 2002 tahoe that i swapped in a 78 Regal. i paid someone to send me a pcm with vats deleted, rear o2 sensors deleted, tire size, gear size, and electric fans on. everything worked what they sent but from what people telling me, its just a base tune. nothing else is adjusted. what all do i have to do to get some power out my setup?

Fuel Injected!
    Yes, probably just a simple tune. Changes to your tune beyond that carry risks, extra costs and quite possibly new engine hardware. A new, more aggressive camshaft, LS3 intake manifold, headers and higher compression heads could really wake up that engine but would be big dollars . . . and an all new tune.

Changes can be made for more aggressive engine timing but this can be risky and make the engine run hot. It will also absolutely require the use of 91-93 octane fuel - 87 octane won't be good for an engine with aggressive timing. That 4L60E also won't tolerate high power for very long.

I have your exact same engine and transmission combo and all I have is a good base running tune. And a dependable running engine with 20-25 MPG fuel consumption and wouldn't change a thing.

Rick
    1970 Chevy El Camino, LM7 Engine, 4L60E - Two 896 and two 0411 PCM's

Nice to see a G body on the rode!

Any Pictures?

There a couple things you could do to the tune only,
    Like you could change Power Enrichment so it engages easier and without a Ramp In Rate.
    Adjust your Volumetric Efficiency Table, and MAF table - If your fuel trims are within 0 to -5% Probably not worth messing with it.
    Change your Power Enrichment Ratios - should be done with a wide band o2 sensor.
    Being in a light car, you could probably use a little more aggressive timing curve than a Tahoe, But with 87 octane, might be minuscule.