Bringing TBI and Multi Port Fuel Injection to a New Level.     EFI Conversions and Tuning! Seattle to Portland! E-mail Tuning Consultant!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 32

Thread: 7427 Efan

  1. #1
    Fuel Injected! CDeeZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Jokelahoma
    Posts
    422

    7427 Efan

    After googling around for 7427 E fan control I found this:

    http://www.fullsizechevy.com/forum/g...n-code-0d.html

    When I try to copy the code into hex editor tool in TPRT it doesn't copy right? Does this have to be entered manually?

  2. #2
    EFI GearHead ! EagleMark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    North Idaho
    Age
    59
    Posts
    10,477
    The zip file from 93V8S10 with all info is here:
    http://www.gearhead-efi.com/Fuel-Inj...ull=1#post3536

    The conversation is here:
    http://www.gearhead-efi.com/Fuel-Inj...D-efan-control

    It is for $0D... I'm sure it could be implemented to $0E but not sure anyone has yet...

    1990 Chevy Suburban 5.7L Auto ECM 1227747 $42!
    1998 Chevy Silverado 5.7L Vortec 0411 Swap to RoadRunner!
    -= =-

  3. #3
    Fuel Injected! CDeeZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Jokelahoma
    Posts
    422
    Thanks. How come when I try to copy the code at the bottom into the hex editor it pastes all wrong?

  4. #4
    EFI GearHead ! EagleMark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    North Idaho
    Age
    59
    Posts
    10,477

    1990 Chevy Suburban 5.7L Auto ECM 1227747 $42!
    1998 Chevy Silverado 5.7L Vortec 0411 Swap to RoadRunner!
    -= =-

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Six_Shooter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    2,895
    Have to enter it manually, copy and paste doesn't seem to work in hex editor.

    It doesn't take long, I think it took me less than 5 minutes to complete all of the changes.
    The man who says something is impossible, is usually interrupted by the man doing it.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Camden, MI
    Age
    30
    Posts
    3,026
    with the new patch item in tunerpro, it can now be done almost automatically.
    1995 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS 3100 + 4T60E


  7. #7
    Fuel Injected! CDeeZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Jokelahoma
    Posts
    422
    I found a free hex editor on the net last night. I was able to copy and paste it just fine using that hex editor. Open the new bin in TunerPro and it appears as if the efan code was installed properly.

    Robert, how do you use the patch feature in TP to apply this, just curious?

    Here is the free hex editor I found if anyone else wants it!
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Camden, MI
    Age
    30
    Posts
    3,026
    it works pretty simply, just add in the areas of the BIN that are patched, what they get patched to, what they were originally(if you want to be able to revert it back to unpatched) and you're pretty much done. works awesome.
    1995 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS 3100 + 4T60E


  9. #9
    Fuel Injected! CDeeZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Jokelahoma
    Posts
    422
    When I go to patch in TP it wants to open up an 'Srecord', what do you do there?

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Camden, MI
    Age
    30
    Posts
    3,026
    that's the old way of doing it, which i've never gotten to work...

    this kind adds it to the XDF, try making a new item (scalar/table/etc) and you'll see patch as an option(if you're running the newest version).
    1995 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS 3100 + 4T60E


  11. #11
    Fuel Injected! CDeeZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Jokelahoma
    Posts
    422
    Thanks Robert,

    I'm going to try that method next time I boot into the Windoze side of my HDD and have access to TPRT.

    Did anybody check out that hexeditor I found? Pretty neat I thought. I was easily able to open the bin, copy the Efan code into the appropriate addresses in the hex, and save a new binary!

  12. #12
    EFI GearHead ! EagleMark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    North Idaho
    Age
    59
    Posts
    10,477
    Did you know TunerPro has a built in Hex editor? Tools, advanced, hex...

    1990 Chevy Suburban 5.7L Auto ECM 1227747 $42!
    1998 Chevy Silverado 5.7L Vortec 0411 Swap to RoadRunner!
    -= =-

  13. #13
    Fuel Injected! CDeeZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Jokelahoma
    Posts
    422
    Yes, I know TunerPro has a built in hex editor.

    But like I said, I couldn't get it to work for copying and pasting the code itself into the proper addresses in the binary.

    I typed it all in manually in the hex editor in TP, then went to close the hex editor, then I got: "Bin modified, Save?" clicked yes, and somehow, miraculously, it didn't save?


    The point of the program I shared was that you can copy and paste the code into the hex thereby saving time. Not to mention the possibility of messing up something while transcribing the code manually one character at a time.

    I could have probably spent another five minutes manually entering the code into the hex editor in TP, a second time, but doing it this way is so much easier and faster
    Last edited by CDeeZ; 07-22-2012 at 06:26 AM.

  14. #14
    EFI GearHead ! EagleMark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    North Idaho
    Age
    59
    Posts
    10,477
    Thanks for sharing the hex editor!

    Although I try very hard not to use them, great for checking a paremeter just made though. Just me... I use the Hex all the time to find mask ID, but other then that? it's like VooDoo... I've got a lot or respect for guys that used to tune cars via hex!

    1990 Chevy Suburban 5.7L Auto ECM 1227747 $42!
    1998 Chevy Silverado 5.7L Vortec 0411 Swap to RoadRunner!
    -= =-

  15. #15
    Fuel Injected! CDeeZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Jokelahoma
    Posts
    422
    I wired up the fan to the PCM but it won't work. Followed directions exactly as prescribed in the included document file with the patch. I set the fan enable temp low to like 40 F to test if the PCM would command the fan on but it doesn't!

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •