PDA

View Full Version : switch from 1228746 to 16197427



one92rs
02-05-2012, 03:33 PM
ok i have a 1992 camaro rs. it has a 305 tbi. i am putting in a 350 tbi. mods are simple. ultimate tbi, headers,and catback. upgraded ignition coil. no egr or emissions. i do have the canister for the tank. cant afford the eblflash. so i am wanting to install the 427 ecm. egr delete is simple tuning. but i do have a couple a questions.
1. is tuning all i need for the 427 ecm to work with my engine?
2. do i need a certain knock sensor or will the one for the 350 work?
3. do i ditch the esc and leave it off?
4. i plan on removing my 700r4 and going to a 4l60e. as long as the harness is pinned in correctly it will work?
5. is tts datamaster a good program for doing datalogging with a cable from aldlcable?
6. does it have to be a 427 for a 350?

for now i am going to order a custom chip for it to get me going. thanks again for the help.

EagleMark
02-05-2012, 04:04 PM
Great first post! Ten minutes before SuperBowl? :homer:

Forget Datamaster and get TunerPro and pay the $39. so he keeps making us cool affordable software! The files for 16197427 are excellent for adjusting bin and recording data and with a little time you can set the 2 up for Data Tracing. So you can see exactly in bin where data is coming from, LIVE! RT.

EGR is not a bad thing, besides lowering nasty emmisions, really bad ones, it increases fuel mailage and reduces combustion chamber temps.

ALDL Cables has good cables and so does Moates.

If your not set up for burning bins and just going to buy one look at OldSchool EFI in vendor section.

ESC is an external module on old TBI and is on Memcal in newer TBI 16197427 so a little wiring change is nessecery there. We have a writeup with pinouts for doing the swap on a 1227747. Yours will be very simalar. Also 16197427 has option to keep IAT which IIRC your ECM has, so another plus.

I'm sure the guys will be in to help you, not sure how much help you'll get till SuperBowl is over... :thumbsup:

one92rs
02-05-2012, 05:34 PM
i suppose i wont. i want to know more on the esc to.

1project2many
02-05-2012, 05:57 PM
It's halftime. You've got 1/2 an hour to get everything figured out. :)

You can remove the ESC module but you'll need to have a connection from the sensor to the PCM. Easy way is to jumper blue to brown at the ESC connector. 350 knock sensor will work if it has correct resistance. Get one from a 94 pickup with 350. You'll want to get injectors from a 350 or larger engine. The 305 injectors really aren't going to give the power you want.

one92rs
02-05-2012, 08:24 PM
ill do just that. i was planning on getting two injectors from injectorwarehouse for the 350. thanks for the info.

one92rs
02-07-2012, 06:46 PM
so when i do this swap can i use a v6 427 or does it need to be one for a 350. does the memcal need to be programmed or not.

gregs78cam
02-07-2012, 06:56 PM
A memcal from a V8 would be best, I am almost sure it would still run fine on a V6 memcal, but the knock circuitry and limp home mode are different. I haven't read about what effects they have when used with the wrong cylinder count though.

one92rs
02-07-2012, 07:23 PM
ok so all i should need to do is pin the 427 from my 746 which is near identical to the 747. add the harness for the 4l60e i am going to run then buy a chip for it till i can tune it myself? and what pin does the power steering pressure switch go to?

EagleMark
02-07-2012, 11:03 PM
and what pin does the power steering pressure switch go to?Been updated in the conversion thread.

Davis_1377
10-15-2015, 05:44 PM
How do you get data tracing to work with this ecm using $0D? I didnt move the serial data wire from pin E to M when i converted, i still get connection with Tunerpro RT but no data tracing.

Fast355
10-15-2015, 08:16 PM
How do you get data tracing to work with this ecm using $0D? I didnt move the serial data wire from pin E to M when i converted, i still get connection with Tunerpro RT but no data tracing.

Some data cables are inner connected between E and M. If you use a scantool like the SnapOn Redbrick or a GM scan tool like a Tech2 you will not get communication unless you swap E and M and scan it as the correct year.

I have been off in OBD2 land for some time, have not touched an OBD1 in a year but In my experience you have to be Emulating and Realtime Tuning to have Data Tracing.

Davis_1377
10-30-2015, 08:49 AM
Ive tried emulating as well still no data tracing