PDA

View Full Version : EEHack 5.0 2020 update



steveo
11-16-2019, 11:14 PM
ill log some progress and alpha versions in this thread.

Main goals:

- scab together some kind of bin editing functions into the analyzer for both ve and maf. this is half finished already but needs some logic as far as cl/ol/wb/nb/maf/ve/patched/unpatched but i want to make it simple on the front end. and why not since we know so much about your bin and logs once both are loaded...

- develop a new and better table interpolator using cubic splines in 2d and 3d to automate curvature and smoothing in the above goal

- write a tutorial for the above so new tuners dont have to learn to tune fuel tables anymore

- improve flashing to reduce bricking. kur4o did some inspirational stuff in another project that im jealous of and i want to get eehack to a place where as long as you dont power cycle your ecm or fry your eeprom, you will not brick your ecm with eehack. even if your computer crashes i want you to be able to plug it back in after and recover the situation

- continue improving the user interface since im not quite where i want to be yet

- make some kind of advanced mode and roll kur4o’s crazy hacks in so he doesn’t have to maintain a separate version

spfautsch
11-23-2019, 01:09 AM
- continue improving the user interface since im not quite where i want to be yet

Here are a couple minor tweaks I've come up with while customizing the 4.9.1 release.

I think I asked you to remove the titles for the playback and log management frames in order to recover some screen real estate, which you did. Seeing some screen caps it seems this is unecessary for windows, but for most systems running x for display the following overrides the default style sheet for the QGroupBox widgets so the space previously used by the title isn't "wasted".

In datalog_window::datalog_window()


#ifdef Q_OS_LINUX
ui->grp_playback->setStyleSheet("QGroupBox{padding-top:20px; margin-top:-15px}");
ui->groupBox_5->setStyleSheet("QGroupBox{padding-top:20px; margin-top:-15px}");
#endif

I do not have access to any BSD or OSX platforms to compile / test on but I suspect those would also benefit from this. The QT os definition constants are available here (https://doc.qt.io/qt-5/qtglobal.html). Though it may be simpler to just check #ifndef Q_OS_WIN32 && Q_OS_WIN64.

This next tweak is pretty ugly but on my tuning rig I was able to make the main window work maximized with the aforementioned stylesheet overrides (and by duplicating them for the fuel, temp and spark frames) and reducing the main button height to 48. So I wanted to make it default to starting maximized. I don't see a way to do that in the ui definitions, so I added this.

In MainWindow::MainWindow()


QTimer::singleShot(1000, this, SLOT(showMaximized()));

I'm sure there's probably a more elegant way to fire this after all the child windows and controls have been rendered, but waiting 1s does the trick for me.

The only other major UI hurdle is the settings window.
14838
14837

yoheer
09-28-2022, 01:12 AM
TTT
Current version is 4.93
Is it possible to remember the selected com port? Every time EEhack is launched I have to go to settings and select the required port.
Could you please make a selectable column range in graphs section? It shows some standard values. For example i don't need to have 90 to 180 BLM graph. I'd like to see 115 to 135 or smth like that for better vieving and orientation with the graph.

steveo
09-28-2022, 05:29 AM
don't know why you'd bump a 2019 thread to ask that


Is it possible to remember the selected com port? Every time EEhack is launched I have to go to settings and select the required port.

it does that. it stores the selected port and then next time you start eehack it selects it from the list. never heard reports of it not working


Could you please make a selectable column range in graphs section? It shows some standard values. For example i don't need to have 90 to 180 BLM graph. I'd like to see 115 to 135 or smth like that for better vieving and orientation with the graph.

these are not hard coded however you have to edit the definition file to change them. it's a CSV file. change RANGE_LOW and RANGE_HIGH to whatever. don't do dumb things to the values in this file or eehack will probably crash.

yoheer
09-28-2022, 09:30 AM
Just not to start a new one :)
I have an issue with port. It does not stores. I use com3 for this. Every time I have to scroll down and select it manually. It is always the last in list. Dunno why. It's not only my problem.

yoheer
09-28-2022, 08:26 PM
The program is installed to Program files and it has read only attributes. Fixed

steveo
09-29-2022, 06:13 AM
if you're running windows it stores your settings in the windows registry

it should be fine if the program is read-only

you can look at this: Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\EEHackB\fbodyt ech.com\SERIALPORT

mine is COM6 which is the last port i selected so i assume it works but maybe i'm wrong

NomakeWan
09-29-2022, 07:43 PM
I'd like to point out that I have also experienced the "forgets the port" thing on my end. Generally my USB ALDL is COM2, but EEHack tends to default to COM6 when opened (which on my laptop is a cellular modem). I just never cared enough to dig into it. I'm also experiencing an issue where 4.93 isn't able to pull the VIN or CAL ID when connected, but that may be better off for another thread.

steveo
09-30-2022, 06:15 AM
if both of you see it, it's probably broken. i can fix it. there's a lot of bad code in the 'settings' module because i wrote it before i had any idea what i was trying to do

steveo
09-30-2022, 06:37 AM
the bug appears to be in settings_editor.cpp

instead of


void settings_editor::on_interface_loaded() {
get_all_settings();
process_port_list();
}

it should be


void settings_editor::on_interface_loaded() {
process_port_list();
get_all_settings();
}

not sure when that bug got introduced but kudos to everyone for not complaining about it for at least a few years

might be a while before i test it fully or release new binary