PDA

View Full Version : 350 5.7 TBI Timing/Fuel Issue

Jeepcrazed
10-22-2015, 03:24 PM
I've been off-roading for over 20 years and had several modified Jeeps with various motors. I recently purchased a Jeep CJ7 that already had a 1993 Chevy C1500 TBI 5.7 motor in it. Guy who had it wheeled all over the Southeast and out West. He let it sit in his basement for a couple years due to his work travel schedule. He decided to sell and went to fire it up. It would idle fine but he couldn't even drive it up the driveway (on a hill) as it would stall when you gave it gas. Now you could rev the motor all you want sitting still but once in gear (it's a manual - SM465) and gave it gas it had no power.

I pulled the trigger and bought it at a discounted price. I got it home and replaced the fuel filter (it was pretty dirty!). It ran better but still had power issues and would throw a Code 42. I replaced the EST circuit and ignition module. No change. Played with the motor for several weeks with new injectors, map sensor, IAC, fuel regulator, TBI rebuild, knock sensor. Checked all wires for open loop, bad ground. Added more engine grounds (body to frame, body to battery, frame to battery, etc). Forgot to mention, the timing was checked (set to 0 with bypass wire disconnected) I replaced the computer (16146299). Transferred the AWLB chip to the new computer. (There is not catalytic converter and muffler was taken off and run to see if there was an obstruction in it as well.) A couple weeks ago I went for a test drive in the neighborhood and all of a sudden I had POWER! The throttle had a lull in it but it would GO! Ocassionally it sputtered when I got on the throttle but would get it. The next few days it went right back to normal. NO POWER.

I broke down and took to a mechanic. He was stumped. He said the best he could get it to run was disconnecting the bypass wire and advancing the timing (basically eliminating the computer control).