PDA

View Full Version : Project MULE - 350 Vortec Tuned Port Injection build on 91 Suburban.

pma4x4
06-11-2014, 07:28 PM
(UPDATED 07-05-2014)

We have found out our Suburban (as great as it is) is just out of power when loaded down and hitting the hills.
We decided to go with a SBC just due to the fact I found one real cheap and I don’t have to switch much of anything on the truck. Other engine ideas were explored, 5.3, 6.0 7.4 vortec and even the 8.1. The deals I ended up with for the main parts of this project just said “SBC”.

Below is the initial list of parts. I have already spoke with Compcams and TPIS. With all the info and weights I had Compcams recommended the cam in the list below. I have been doing some serious research even picked up a few reference books. Now this is not my first time building a motor but it is my first time building (per-say) a fuel injection system. If you see something wrong or I am missing please don’t flame me as this is my first initial list of something new. Input is always welcome.

Engine short block: 99 5.7 Vortec
Heads: EQ CH350C Vortec Heads (with pre-'87 intake bolt pattern)
Cam: compcams XR264HR #8-501-08
GMPP Roller lifters #12499225
Chevrolet Performance Timing Chain Sets 12371043
Est 9.5:1 CR
90-92 Tuned Port Injection
Stock runners
Stock TB
Stock Corvette (Pre '87) TPI intake
24lb blue top injectors
BBK Adjustable fuel psi regulator #BBK-1714
Speed density setup
1227730 ECM
All new sensors.

Other stuff
ALDLdorid app
Tunerpro on the laptop
1320 Electronics ALDL Blutooth transmitter

I have read some stuff here on the forums and I would really like to avoid having to write cusom .BIN files like I have seen here. As much as I know I need to get it running. Data log with Tunerpro send that info off to someone and they will burn a proper EPROM.

Fast355
06-11-2014, 09:04 PM
We have found out our Suburban (as great as it is) is just out of power when loaded down and hitting the hills.