PDA

View Full Version : C3/P4 open hardware/software project?

jdarg
01-09-2014, 10:28 PM
Hello everyone, I've been lurking for a while but this is probably my first post.

Is anyone interested in PCBs and/or kits for arduino-based tuning hardware? I have a bench setup that allows me to dump PROMs, edit BINs on Android with an Android BIN editor I've been developing for about six months now, flash BINs back into the ECM, and do datalogging for 160 baud C3 ECMs, specifically the 8746 at this time. This would support communications over both USB and Bluetooth, on Windows and Android.

I've been thinking about maybe doing a Kickstarter project to raise funds to take this to the next level - essentially to procedure additional C3 and P4 ECMs, and develop a custom PCB layout that would shrink this small enough to fit into the ECM instead of hanging off a ribbon cable. Contributions would be rewarded with blank PCBs, DIY board/parts kits, or fully assembled boards depending on the donation amount. The hardware design, PCB layout files, and Windows/Android software source code would remain free and open.

This has a lot of other possibilities too...the same board could drive relays to activate aux lighting, air lockers on 4x4 vehicles, perform VSS pulse correction upstream from the ECM and dash to adjust for tire/gearing differences, add digital or analog inputs to the ALDL stream, GPS, fan controller, etc.

Is this something folks around here might be interested in? The hardware will be really inexpensive with enough support. The custom PCBs are probably the costliest part - the Atmel microcontroller and other ancillary parts that drive the whole thing are actually really inexpensive these days. I probably have about $40 invested in my current hardware and this can be driven down by ordering in quantity.

Thoughts?

EagleMark
01-10-2014, 04:21 AM
[QUOTE=jdarg;33724

Is this something folks around here might be interested in?