PDA

View Full Version : Tbi on 4.3l boat

jokey
08-15-2011, 06:38 AM
Hi guys I am new to the efi programing thing. I have a boat and installed the tbi system off an 86 caprice with 4.3l. I have the hole system set up and running but I need to tune it. It idles to high when cold and when I run it for a while the motor runs to rich. The ecm I am using is 1227137 with $27 code. I would like to fix these issues. I have to disable closed loop, egr, and adjust the idle.

Is there a way to run the 1227727 ecm with tbi? I would love to use this ecm because it is weather proof.

Plus I need help on which programs to use for tuning and buring the chip. I have intronics pocket programmer with rev2a rom emulator

EagleMark
08-15-2011, 06:57 AM
Most of the tuners around here use TunerPro V5

High idle when cold is normal on cars but can be a nusince in boats do to normally warmer weather. Need to check your thermastat to and make sure it gets high enough to make the ECM think it's warmed up. Boats are usually 160 and cars 180 to 190. Otherwise a high idle ususlly is a vacuum leak.

There's a lot of GM EFI systems out there that run open loop. May be better to just get a marine .bin file. As soon as you turn your ignition on the MAP takes a reading for elevation. But after that your running on maps with no O2 feedback. I've gotten them dailed in faily easy on a boat because it's always working hard. Find your motor top RPM and get the prop matched. TunerPro and a cable will record the data you need to adjust. HTH!

:welcome2:

dave w
08-15-2011, 07:59 AM
I've only modified V6 Memcals to be used in a V8. I don't know how to actually modify the '7727 Memcal for TBI.
Maybe jwscab over at Thridgen.org can make you a Memcal like the one pictured to run TBI? I purchased one of jwscab Memcals for a V8 conversion I did a couple years ago.

Here are the notes I have about modifying the 7727 PCM for TBI.

dave w