PDA

View Full Version : I need to buy a plane ticket

JeepsAndGuns
05-01-2013, 03:02 AM
I have never bought a plane ticket before, but I am in need of buying one. I have no idea where to go or what to do when I buy it.
I need to get one adult passenger from minneapolis, MN to huntsville, AL and then back again. So it will need to be round trip. Leaving out on 5-25-13, and flying back 6-1-13.

I went to that one place online that start treck guy advertises for, priceline, and kinda looked at it. Has anyone bought from there? Anyone know where the best place to buy them from and get a good deal? I have never done this before.

dave w
05-01-2013, 07:38 AM
I started by looking at what airlines are serviced at Huntsville, AL
American Airlines
Delta Airlines
US Airways
United Airlines

All the above airlines fly in / out of Minneapolis. There are no non-stop flights from Minneapolis to Huntsville. There will be a connecting flight somewhere between Minneapolis and Huntsville.

The Minneapolis airport code is MSP. The airport code for Huntsville is HSV.

Option one:
Use Google to search "flights from MSP to HSV"

Option two:
Go to the website of each airline that services Huntsville.

What I found in option one was Delta offered several round trip flights $340, but other fees might apply.

Personally, I avoid getting a connecting flight in Detroit DTW. I would recommend getting a connecting flight in Atlanta ATL.

dave w

EagleMark
05-01-2013, 07:44 AM
Only time I needed a ticket I used Captain Kirks company?

JeepsAndGuns
05-01-2013, 02:30 PM
I googled "best place to buy plane tickets online" and the top 3 places that came up was orbits, priceline, and expedia. I compared all 3 sites and they all pretty much had the same flights listed for the same prices. Of the 3, I liked the layout and design of orbits site the best.